Nobel Prize for Nanoscopy!!

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014 was awarded jointly to Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner "for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy"

Six years after having awarded Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie and Roger Tsien for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP, Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner are awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014 for having bypassed a presumed scientific limitation stipulating that an optical microscope can never yield a resolution better than 0.2 micrometres. Using the fluorescence of molecules, scientists can now monitor the interplay between individual molecules inside cells; they can observe disease-related proteins aggregate and they can track cell division at the nanolevel.

Click to be redirected to the Scientific Background

Mots-clés :

Featured Posts
Posts à venir
Tenez-vous à jour...
Recent Posts
Search By Tags

© 2014-2021 Virgile Adam. All rights reserved

  • Orcid-logo
  • HAL-logo
  • Publons
  • Scopus
  • Research Gate
  • IdRef
  • Academia
  • Google Scholar
  • LinkedIn
  • Mendeley
  • Twitter
  • sudoc
  • thesesfr
  • TEL
  • ADUM